Tomato-Coconut Salmon over Rice

Weeknight dinner doesn’t have to be boring. And it shouldn’t be. You can whip up a gourmet meal in 30-minutes.

This recipe was shared with me by my friend Chana years ago and has been one of my go-to’s since. I love the combination of the salmon, ginger, coconut, tomatoes and cilantro, and it’s healthy and filling.

Just recently my son changed from my budding foodie into a lil’ guy who complains about everything I feed him but thank the baby Jesus this is a dish he still enjoyed. It’s even better for leftovers the next day.

And please excuse me ahead of time for not taking photos at each step. I made this on violin-practice-Wednesday so I had limited time to cook so the kiddies were fed, bathed and in bed on time but I had to share one of my favorite recipes.

Happy cooking…and even happier eating.

Ingredients:
1 tbsp olive oil
1 small onion, diced
1-2 cloves of garlic, chopped
1 can petite diced tomatoes (I use the one with green chiles in it)
1 can coconut milk (light if you prefer a healthier version)
1 cup cherry tomatoes, sliced in half (I use 2 cups bc I really like tomatoes)
Pinch of cayenne pepper
Salt and pepper to taste (I use white-pepper but any type is fine)
1 lb of salmon filet, skin off, cut into small cubes
Juice from one lime
½ cup cilantro, chopped

Tip: Before you get started, prepare your rice as directed on the package. I try to use brown rice only but it takes more time to cook than white rice so I keep white rice in the house for those nights I need to make a quick meal. This was one of those nights. If you prefer brown rice, make a large batch ahead since rice refrigerates well.

Directions:

Heat oil in a non-stick skillet over medium-high heat. Add onions and garlic and sautée stirring constantly until softened, about 5 minutes. Season lightly with salt and pepper.

Add ginger and continue to cook until fragrant, about 1 minute.

Add the can of tomatoes and give it a stir to combine. When hot, add the coconut milk and cayenne pepper. I do 3 dashed of the cayenne. Continue to cook until everything is combined and steaming.

Add the cherry tomatoes. Season with salt before you stir them into the mixture. Don’t over-salt it. You can always add more seasonings at the end. Cook the tomatoes until they begin to soften, about 3 minutes.

After you’ve cut your salmon as directed, squeeze the juice of the lime over all of the pieces. Season with salt and pepper.

Add your salmon into the tomato and coconut mixture. The lime juice from the salmon should go in as well. Give it a stir and let it cook until the salmon is cooked through, about 6-8 minutes. You’ll want to stir it frequently.

Add the cilantro and cook for an additional 3-5 minutes. Once the salmon is cooked, taste it to see if additional salt and pepper is needed.

img_1544

Serve over rice, making sure you serve it with plenty of broth. That’s the best part.

img_1553

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

