Secretly healthy pasta with red sauce

I do this often and it works like a charm. I add tons of veggies to dishes to make sure my hubby and son are getting some colorful veggies in their diet.

I know I’m not getting this one over on my hubs but my son hasn’t caught on yet.

Well, I take that back. Once he came into the kitchen while I was prepping dinner and said with a puzzled look, “You’re putting carrots in the pasta?” I think I actually looked him in his eyes and lied, “No, this is for me.”

A Mom’s gotta do what a Mom’s gotta do. Just sayin. And it worked becuause he eats it every time.

About four months ago my son changed. He went from my budding foodie to a kid who dislikes most everything. It has always been a challenge to get him to sit down, sit still and eat but he would at least enjoy most everything I placed in front of him.

Lately, I don’t get thumbs up from him. He’ll eat around certain items on his plate or he’ll avoid eating all-together.

The thing is, I’m not the I’ll-make-dinner-based-on-what-my-children-want kinda Mom. Nope. You eat what I make and I suggest you enjoy it. Sounds harsh but I’m not serving hot poo over here. I’m serving a home cooked meal that is quite tasty.

Pasta is my go-to for easy meal nights, which has been happening more frequently than I’d prefer but thank the baby Jesus pasta is awesome.

This Secretly Healthy Pasta is super easy, uses…wait for it…Prego not homemade sauce, and includes as many veggies as your heart desires.

For me, it amps up regular old pasta. Not only is it healthier but the earthy flavors the vegetables add are simply satisfying.

Keep your kids and spouse in the living room while you’re cooking and no one will ever know the difference. Score.

Note: If you have really picky eaters, you’ll want to chop the veggies as fine as you can. That way, it will perfectly blend in with the meat and no one will question, “Is this a mushroom?! Gross!”

Ingredients:

A handful of your favorite noodles
1 tbsp salt
1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 tsp minced garlic
1 pound ground turkey
1 container Prego spaghetti sauce (any red sauce)
1 onion, diced
4-5 carrots, shredded then chopped
8 baby bella mushrooms, diced
1-2 cups baby spinach, chopped
1 tbsp parsley
1 tbsp oregano
Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

In a large pot, boil water. Once boiled, add salt and the noodles. Cook until al dente.

In a large saucepan, heat olive oil on medium high heat. Add garlic and sautee about 1-2 minutes, until fragrant.

Che Che photoshoot 117.jpg

Add ground turkey and cook until it is no longer pink, stirring it frequently to break the turkey into small pieces. Add onions, oregano, parsley, salt and pepper to taste.

che-che-photoshoot-121

Drain the juice from the pan and add in your carrots, mushrooms and spinach. Add more salt and pepper to taste.Sautee for 5-7 minutes.

img_1185

Give it a taste before you add your sauce and add more oregano, parsley, salt and pepper if needed.

Add your sauce and stir until fully mixed in with the veggies. Reduce heat to medium low, cover the saucepan and let it simmer for 8-10 minutes.

img_1187

Serve over your noodles, sprinkle with grated Parmesan cheese and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

