Sometimes we have to apologize to our kids

I’m a great Mom most of the time but this morning I was not. I was short-tempered and unkind and the opposite of how I want to be.

It was a busy morning. We were rushing to school as usual. Seconds from walking out of the door, I was reminded of a homework assignment that was due that I neglected to have my son complete over the weekend.

We parked outside of the school to finish it. His notebook on his lap, trying to do his best while worrying about being late to school, I fussed and fought and even cursed. I caught myself a word too late.

20 minutes later, we ran into school, both of us drained. I kissed him quickly as if I didn’t even have time to kiss him goodbye and I forgot to say “I love you.”

Back in the car alone, I felt dirty and was so disappointed with myself. I mistreated my son out of frustration. I lost my cool. I was a poor reflection of how to treat someone you love. I was wrong on so many levels.

The day couldn’t go by fast enough. I needed to get back to his school to hug him, tell him I love him and whole-heartedly apologize.

That afternoon, I learned something from my six year old son. He was so happy to see me and embraced me the way he always does. He was in such a good mood, unfazed by the morning blues. I, on the other hand, worried all day.

On the ride home we chatted and laughed. He lifted my mood just by being him. I surprised him with a stop to our favorite cookie shop.

Over cookies, I did what I waited all day to do.

I told him how wrong I was and how I’m working on being more patient. He responded with such love, “It’s okay Mommy.” “No, it’s not okay,” I told him. “How I treated you is not okay.” I listed all of the things I did and said wrong and how I thought about what I had done all day.

“I forgive you.” It was a simple as that. I apologized, told him that I’m working on being a better me, that I’ll fall short sometimes but I’ll keep trying, and he forgave me. Just. Like. That.

Sometimes we have to apologize to our kids. We are raising them but adults have growing to do as well.

Because of this experience, I grew in many ways. I can thank my lil’ guy for that. He taught me a lot about love and forgiveness. And I taught him that it’s okay to have flaws as long as you work every day to be your best and apologize when you’ve hurt someone.

Leave a Reply

